GIFT OFFER: €30 order = 1 free personalized pen

What is embossing in scrapbooking?

Very popular in the world of scrapbooking , embossing consists of working the paper to give it relief. Concretely, there are two techniques to know: cold embossing and hot embossing. So what exactly do they consist of? Answer !

Hot embossing in scrapbooking

In scrapbooking, hot embossing consists of creating relief on a stamp imprint using embossing powder. To get started, you will need a stamp, embossing powder (colored or transparent), an embossing ink pad (colored or transparent) and an electric embosser.

Knowing that for the ink, you should always choose a slow-drying ink so that you can have time to apply the powder on top. As for varying the colors, the colored ink will require a transparent embossing powder since it is this which will give the color to your design. Conversely, a transparent ink should be combined with a colored embossing powder. In these cases, it is the powder which will give the relief and color to the pattern.

For hot embossing in scrapbooking , start by inking your stamp before stamping your sheet. Then, sprinkle the embossing powder directly onto the still wet ink. Remove the excess and heat the powder with the electric embosser about 5 cm from the paper. Above all, don't consider using a hair dryer as it is far too coarse and will waste your time! When the powder changes color and texture, you can continue with the rest of the design.

Cold embossing in scrapbooking

For cold embossing you will need an embossing pen and an embossing stencil. Then, place the stencil directly on a light tablet to illuminate the support from below. Above, place the paper on your stencil before working it delicately using a stylus through transparency. It’s a technique that requires attention to detail and patience, especially when you’re new to scrapbooking!

For experienced scrappers, there is also the possibility of using a cutting machine which allows you to work on the patterns in detail. You will therefore have the choice between a machine that works with cutting dies or a machine that uses embossing dies to emboss the paper.

Finally, regarding the paper, it must be sufficiently flexible and resistant to avoid tearing. In terms of the ideal weight, count between 200 and 240 grams for cold embossing and between 90 and 150 grams for hot embossing. All you have to do is get started!

Très en vogue dans l'univers du scrapbooking, l'embossage consiste à travailler le papier pour lui donner du relief. Concrètement, il existe deux techniques à connaître : l’embossage à froid et l’embossage à chaud. Alors en quoi consistent-elles exactement ? Réponse !

L'embossage à chaud en scrapbooking

En scrapbooking, l'embossage à chaud consiste à créer du relief sur une empreinte de tampon à l'aide d'une poudre à embosser. Pour vous lancer, vous aurez donc besoin d'un tampon, d'une poudre à embosser (de couleur ou transparente), d'un encreur pour embossage (de couleur ou transparent) et d'un embosseur électrique.

En sachant que pour l'encre, il faudra toujours choisir une encre à séchage lent pour que vous puissiez avoir le temps d'appliquer la poudre sur le dessus. Quant à faire varier les couleurs, l'encre de couleur demandera une poudre à embosser transparente puisque c'est elle qui viendra donner la teinte à votre motif. À l'inverse, une encre transparente doit être associée à une poudre à embosser de couleur. Dans ces cas-là, c'est la poudre qui donnera le relief et la teinte au motif.

Pour l'embossage à chaud en scrapbooking, commencez par encrer votre tampon avant de tamponner votre feuille. Ensuite, saupoudrez avec la poudre à embosser directement sur l'encre encore humide. Retirez le surplus et faites chauffer la poudre avec l'embosseur électrique à environ 5 cm du papier. Surtout, n'envisagez pas le sèche-cheveux puisqu'il reste bien trop grossier et vous fera perdre votre temps ! Lorsque la poudre change de couleur et de texture, vous pouvez continuer sur le reste du motif.

L'embossage à froid en scrapbooking

Pour l'embossage à froid, vous aurez besoin d'un stylet de gaufrage et d'un pochoir de gaufrage. Ensuite, posez directement le pochoir sur une tablette lumineuse afin d'éclairer le support par-dessous. Au-dessus, posez le papier sur votre pochoir avant de le travailler délicatement à l'aide d'un stylet par transparence. C'est une technique qui demande de la minutie et de la patience, notamment lorsqu'on débute dans le scrapbooking ! 

Pour les scrapeurs avertis, il existe aussi la possibilité de passer par une machine de découpe qui vous permet de travailler les motifs dans le détail. Vous aurez donc le choix entre une machine qui travaille avec des dies de découpe ou une machine qui utilise des dies à embosser pour gaufrer le papier. 

Enfin, concernant le papier, il doit être suffisamment souple et résistant pour éviter de se déchirer. Au niveau du grammage idéal, comptez entre 200 et 240 grammes pour l'embossage à froid et entre 90 et 150 grammes pour l’embossage à chaud. Il ne vous reste plus qu'à vous lancer !